GOOGL Earnings Preview - Analysts Upgrade to Buy

GOOGL is reporting earnings on Apr 26th, 2022 after market close with an estimate of 25.49 EPS. Based on historical trends GOOGL has a 75% chance of beating earnings. This should be viewed with the associated guidance set out by the company and what analysts think about the potential for GOOGL to beat earnings.   GOOGL Retail Investor Sentiment Taking a look at Twitter and Stocktwits we can get a sense of the market sentiment for GOOGL. Right now the market sentiment for GOOGL is -0.2% on Twitter and -2.35% on Stocktwits. Overall this is a generally positive sentiment going into earnings.   Current GOOGL Analyst Ratings Credit Suisse just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 20th, 2022 Credit Suisse rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of buy for GOOGL. Citigroup just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 19th, 2022 Citigroup rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of hold for GOOGL. Keybanc just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 19th, 2022 Keybanc rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of buy for GOOGL. Rosenblatt just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 18th, 2022 Rosenblatt rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of hold for GOOGL. Here is the current analyst rating distribution for GOOGL. In total there are 25 GOOGL analyst ratings. 24 Buys 1 Holds 0 Sells Analyst Ratings have provided relatively strong indicators of future price movement, which is why they are used to determine a GOOGL stock forecast. However, this shouldn't be the only factor when determining whether to invest in Alphabet Inc., I would use Analyst Ratings as a datapoint along with other fundamental indicators and investment metrics. We have also seen the impact of Analyst Ratings on stock price, when it comes to upgrading or downgrading a stock.   GOOGL's Historical Performance vs Peers Now, let's take a look at recent historical performance to see if investors have taken notice and acted on the relative valuation of GOOGL vs its peers. We will look at the 1 month, 3-month, and 6-month average return of GOOGL vs industry peers. Here is the breakdown: In the last month, GOOGL returned -6.9% vs the industry average of -10.9% In the last 3 months, GOOGL returned -6.81% vs the industry average of -19.44% In the last 6 months, GOOGL returned -11.24% vs the industry average of -26.49% I understand historical performance isn't necessarily an indicator of future performance, etc. but when looking at how GOOGL performed over these time periods, it shows that investors believe GOOGL is a solid investment GOOGL is Undervalued Is GOOGL undervalued? Yes, based on the peer comparisons we looked at today. There are obviously several other factors to consider when deciding to invest in GOOGL but this peer comparison is a good place to start, and one of my go-to valuation analysis methods when determining whether or not to invest in a company. 

back

GOOGL Earnings Preview - Analysts Upgrade to Buy

bullish

GOOGL is reporting earnings on Apr 26th, 2022 after market close with an estimate of 25.49 EPS.

Based on historical trends GOOGL has a 75% chance of beating earnings. This should be viewed with the associated guidance set out by the company and what analysts think about the potential for GOOGL to beat earnings.

GOOGL Retail Investor Sentiment

Taking a look at Twitter and Stocktwits we can get a sense of the market sentiment for GOOGL. Right now the market sentiment for GOOGL is -0.2% on Twitter and -2.35% on Stocktwits. Overall this is a generally positive sentiment going into earnings.

Current GOOGL Analyst Ratings

  • Credit Suisse just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 20th, 2022 Credit Suisse rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of buy for GOOGL.
  • Citigroup just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 19th, 2022 Citigroup rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of hold for GOOGL.
  • Keybanc just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 19th, 2022 Keybanc rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of buy for GOOGL.
  • Rosenblatt just released their rating for GOOGL. As of Apr 18th, 2022 Rosenblatt rates GOOGL as a buy, compared to their previous rating of hold for GOOGL.

Here is the current analyst rating distribution for GOOGL. In total there are 25 GOOGL analyst ratings.

  • 24 Buys
  • 1 Holds
  • 0 Sells

Analyst Ratings have provided relatively strong indicators of future price movement, which is why they are used to determine a GOOGL stock forecast. However, this shouldn't be the only factor when determining whether to invest in Alphabet Inc., I would use Analyst Ratings as a datapoint along with other fundamental indicators and investment metrics. We have also seen the impact of Analyst Ratings on stock price, when it comes to upgrading or downgrading a stock.

GOOGL's Historical Performance vs Peers

Now, let's take a look at recent historical performance to see if investors have taken notice and acted on the relative valuation of GOOGL vs its peers. We will look at the 1 month, 3-month, and 6-month average return of GOOGL vs industry peers. Here is the breakdown:

  • In the last month, GOOGL returned -6.9% vs the industry average of -10.9%
  • In the last 3 months, GOOGL returned -6.81% vs the industry average of -19.44%
  • In the last 6 months, GOOGL returned -11.24% vs the industry average of -26.49%

I understand historical performance isn't necessarily an indicator of future performance, etc. but when looking at how GOOGL performed over these time periods, it shows that investors believe GOOGL is a solid investment

GOOGL is Undervalued

Is GOOGL undervalued? Yes, based on the peer comparisons we looked at today. There are obviously several other factors to consider when deciding to invest in GOOGL but this peer comparison is a good place to start, and one of my go-to valuation analysis methods when determining whether or not to invest in a company.

read-time
2 min
2707.63
Target Price
8/ 10
Confidence
< 1 Week
Timeframe
catalyst icon
Earnings Release
catalyst icon
News
catalyst icon
SEC
Filing
catalyst icon
Sentiment
catalyst icon
Other Catalyst

Access the latest tools and discussion channels with an account

reddit-sentiment

Reddit Sentiment
Analysis

portfolio-balancer

Portfolio Balancer
with brokerages

sec-dashboard

SEC Dashboard
with NLP

*/}aiodd-ad
next